Thank you for contacting the Georgia Department of Education. We appreciate the opportunity to assist you.
State law 20-2-283 lists the criteria for grades three, five, and eight. If the student chooses not to take the test, s/he has not met the criteria for promotion to the next grade.

Potential contact:

Melissa Fincher
Associate Superintendent of Assessment and Accountability
Office of Curriculum, Instruction, & Assessment
Georgia Department of Education